another day…

…another felt flower. 

i’ve been cutting and folding and gluing a LOT of felt.

i’m loving all these tutorials i’ve been finding on making felt flowers.  this one is from megan at not martha

made this in between wrapping tape around hula hoops.  i have no photos of my hoops yet since i’ve only made two of them (well, 3 really, but that first one was experimental.  experimental and bad.  and they’re very plain-jane compared to all the beautifully decorative taped hoops out there in hoop world.  i used the cheapest tape i could find.  they’re good enough for playing around.)  wrap a little while, glue a little while, wrap, glue, drink, wrap, glue.

speaking of drink, picked up this vintage juice king juicer a few days ago to see how it squeezed juice.  it does the trick.  it’s a little bulky for my dinky kitchen space, though.   i think i remain partial to my vintage reamers, but i feel obligated to pick up good, sturdy old kitchen tools when i see them. 

  

i see a margarita in my near future.

4 Comments on “another day…”

  1. Alison says:

    Here from Not Martha, your version is lovely. But more importantly, WHERE did you get that mouse? I love him.

    • fries in a cone says:

      hey alison – the mouse is cute, right?! mouse is from a whole family of wooden mice i got on ebay years ago. i think you’d just have to do a search for “danish teak mouse” and see what you come up with.

  2. Alexis says:

    I found your blog by way of Not Martha’s flower tutorial. Yours are gorgeous, but the real reason I’m commenting is to say I had that same little wooden mouse when I was growing up. I got him at Michael’s and called him Ferdinand. I wonder where he is today…
    Anyway, I’m glad I found your blog, you make beautiful things!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.