new sheets

ok, well, old sheets. 

part of me is grossed out by buying used sheets to use on my bed when they’re not new in the package.  it’s just kinda weird.  but then i think about sleeping in hotels and hotels don’t use a new set of sheets every time they make the bed, so i just washed ’em as soon as i got home and make pretend i’m always sleeping hotel-style.  and just pray lice and bed bugs can’t survive the wash, rinse, spin-cycle, followed by the dryer at high heat.

a flat sheet, a fitted sheet, and a set of pillowcases.  none of ’em match.  and yet they all kinda go together. 

 

but you came here today to see a little more patchwork pillow magic, right?

more vintage fabrics.  kinda ugly.  but kinda totally beautiful IMO.

see, when something becomes easyish and uncomplicated for me, i stick with it.  relationships, jobs, pillows, you name it.  as soon as it gets a little tricky (or boring,) i’m done.  i give up.  so here again, you have the same square patchwork.  a few pieces of vintage trim and rick-rack thrown in to shake things up.  expect to see this exact same pillow for the next 17 years. 

  

this version with neon pink quilting. 

now if i could only  e x p a n d  this by a couple dozen squares and knock out a baby quilt, obviously in more subtle colors as the poor baby would start out life with night terrors from these jarring prints.

2 Comments on “new sheets”

  1. Linda says:

    Now I’m going to have to live to be 80 to see if you’re telling the truth about those patchwork pillows! 😎

    I like the neon thread. I think I have some of the orange in my thread stash. Maybe we’re sisters and we were separated at birth……..and a continent! I know what you mean about getting too comfortable. Comfortable breeds lazy and that’s me waving my arm like crazy to identify myself…lol. “Hi, my name is Linda and I’m comfortable being miserable and lonely.” Now, this is where all the others say “Hi, Linda!” (I belonged to Overeaters Anonymous for a while in the 70s)

    At least you are creating. I keep buying fabric, cutting some out, and then getting into a funk and not following through…..sigh.

    I’m having a procedure done on my back on Tuesday. I have Spinal Stenosis and have to use a walker because of the pain when I do anything but sit. This is supposed to last for 9 months to a year, and my Dr. says he’s positive I can get rid of the walker and only use a cane! That would be wonderful! (just scroll by if I’ve already told you all of this) The worst part of the procedure in my opinion is having to lay butt up over a pillow on the table so they can get to my back. At least I can’t see their faces when they point at it and roll their eyes…..lol.

    Love the pillows and the quilting, btw! 😎

    Linda

    • fries in a cone says:

      i hope it’s a beautiful patchwork pillow you’re lying on when you’re ass-up in the OR. good luck to you!


Leave a Reply

