not a larson

i’m digging into thrifting history for this post because i have nothing new to say.

as you may or may not know, i’m no cat person.  i don’t like them.

at all.

and yet, cat-stuff finds its way into my life.  (you recall the bitossi cat which i loathed at the time, but now just makes me laugh.)

bitossi cat

years ago while absorbing all things mid-century modern, danish modern, vintage scandinavian, etc.  i remember briefly seeing a lisa larson lion in my internet clicking: (lions i like, i’m a leo.)

lisa larson lion

which led me to scroll through more of her works, which are awesome.  and expensive.  out of my price range.

but again, i was in a learning phase and familiarizing myself with desirable works of art from the past and things were not tattooed in my brain back then.

lisa larson cat

so off i go to a thrift store and i could not believe my eyes when i spotted this cat:

did i have a larson on my hands?

now, i knew something weren’t quite right.

what were those holes?

and why the plastic at the bottom?

for 50¢ i figured i had to buy it.

was it an incense holder?

what did i have here?

despite similarities, obviously it wasn’t an authentic larson.   i threw it in a box and forgot about it.  thrift fail.

only recently i spotted a couple of these cats posted on flickr, which cracked me up.

it’s a chia pet.

i gotta get busy growing my chia garden for spring.  not to mention, chia seeds are LOADED with health bennies.  chia pets, chia seeds.  all good.  even when it’s a knockoff larson.

5 Comments on “not a larson”

  1. Trina Curran says:

    Haha! This cracked me up. And I love your books in the background of the photos…I have them too…way too many of those BHG books, but I have to have them! 🙂

    • fries in a cone says:

      you and me both…way too many BHG books, not to mention GOBS of all kinds of truly outstanding vintage decor books. if i only had a place to store them all…

  2. Marie says:

    Hahaha, oh my gosh! Thank you for this post! A chia pet… that makes so much sense. I found one of these today, and I was thinking “…flour shaker?”. Alas, if only it was a genuine Lisa Larson piece… that would have been an amazing consolation prize for me today (I went to the Goodwill in the hopes that I’d find a Kosta Boda figurine I left behind, not knowing what it was – it was long gone, of course – and came back with this ridiculous little beast).

    Anyway, thanks. 🙂

    • fries in a cone says:

      first off, rats on the kosta boda.
      your reaction to the chia pet was exactly my same one when i discovered what it was. i busted out a belly laugh. it’s like you almost have to keep the little guy for the story.

  3. Peter Hallen says:

    Candle sticks
    “Liljan”
    Brass
    Designed by Ivar Ålenius-Björk
    Produced by Ystad Metall


Leave a Reply

