checking in

i’m still here.

i’m still making simple crafts.

i’m still making the occasional cocktail.

i’ve graduated to a more sophisticated margarita.  don’t hate me cuz i’m sophisticated.

i read where you’re not supposed to add orange liqueur (triple sec, cointreau, etc.) to a margarita.  and actually, the owner of an authentic mexican restaurant told me a purist wouldn’t add anything to a good tequila (oh, you americans!), but i’m not that sophisticated yet.

here’s my recipe now for a basic margarita:

1 oz fresh lime juice (half a lime)

1/2 oz agave nectar

1/2 oz water

2 oz 100% blue agave silver tequila (blanco)

put all ingredients into a shaker with ice, shake shake shake, strain into a chilled vintage cocktail glass and serve on a handmade patchwork coaster.  cuz it’s better that way.  and i salt my rim.  cuz it’s better that way.

and i found a new-to-me wheat-free snack that i can’t be sure doesn’t have cancer-causing acrylamides, but every now and then you have to take a chance on a snack that isn’t a baby carrot.  pretzels made the acrylamide list, but is this an actual pretzel?  mary’s sticks and twigs.  it’s just so hard to know what to eat these days.  for now, i’ll say the once-in-awhile stick and twig is OK.

i took a 2 day confidence workshop hoping to amp up the confidence as i repeatedly get turned down for jobs.  can you imagine?  people don’t want to hire this chick who handcrafts awesome potholders that double as coasters who makes her own delectable cocktails from scratch that are almost good for you.  apparently these aren’t skills employers want in a massage therapist.

2 Comments on “checking in”

  1. I’m so glad you stopped by my little bloggity and clued me in with the paella pans. I’m also glad because I’m truly enjoying your blog, I’m your newest fan!
    I LOVE all of those teak items that you have and may I say that those potholders are AMAZING! The one with the mustard/ bluish purple/ and gray is my favorite.
    Good luck to you on the job hunt, I totally feel your pain…

    • fries in a cone says:

      i rarely post anymore these days, but thanks for popping in over here. i used to LIVE for thrifting (and i still get the rush when i walk into a thrift store) but i’ve accumulated pretty much all i need and hardly buy stuff anymore. i’ve got my eyes peeled for a certain chair and of course will buy anything scandinavian if i spot it. i just have to wait long enough, seems like anything i want eventually comes along. looks like you and i have the “eye” for lots of the same items. it’s fun for me to see your finds.


Leave a Reply

