snack

am i the last person to know about these snacks?  we just got them in my ghetto grocery store and i am IN LOVE with them and i am IN LOVE with the inventor.  i thank the heavens above for folks who also avoid the corn, who want a healthy snack and then actually go about creating one.  i have the utmost respect for innovators.  what i wouldn’t give for that innovator gene. 

BEANITOS.

 

they’re the best snack ever invented. 

i tell you people, i have been off the chips since i declared myself off the chips.  don’t get me wrong, i’m still eating a tasty rice cracker every now and again.  (oxymoron?  tasty rice cracker?)  but these, these are more CHIP-like.  and i approve. 

now, the jury is still out on my latest box of wine experiment.  i was feeling rich and worthy of a box of organic wine after many many agonizing hours of work, and it was a new product in my neighborhood liquor store, so i splurged – our daily red.  besides, the name kills me. 

the problem is, i can’t decide if my body is just rejecting the notion of organic wine because it’s so darn used to cheap booze or WHAT.  but two days in a row of drinking ONLY ONE glass of this organic boxed wine, i’ve awoken with a headache.  i don’t get it.  is this wine mocking me?  is this wine saying, “who do you think you are drinking organic wine allasudden, you poser?!”  to be honest, i miss my little pour spout on the non-organic box.  but of course, i’ll suffer through this chicken stock box of upper crust vino.  headaches be damned! 

also – i’m still eating the cheese.  sometimes i just can’t resist the siren song of the honey goat cheese. so much for wearing my vegan badge proudly. 

today’s favorite snack – honey goat cheese with avocado on a beanito with some daily red.  life is grand.  a day off, some good snackin’, a little thrifting (more later) and some netflix boardwalk empire.  who has a better life than me?  no-one.  everyone.  whatever.  i love my mediocre life. 

2 Comments on “snack”

  1. My mom generally has a bottle of that same wine waiting for me when I go back home to CA to visit (sheeee…. after driving from LAX to their house, I need that bottle!!!). You would think there wouldn’t be a headache without the sulphates.

    And after watching the same doc. I looked into all the ingredient names corn goes by + printed off something like a list 5 pages long. It was overwhelming!

    • fries in a cone says:

      i know that corn list well. i used to carry it around with me in my pocketbook when i first developed allergies to corn. i COULD NOT BELIEVE how much stuff contains the corn.

      i was quite distressed over the morning headaches with sulfite-free wine. it just doesn’t make sense. maybe there’s an adjustment phase. or maybe i JUST got my period after going on month 3 without one. curses menopause! could it be hormones? could it be my awful job? who knows? what i DO know is i ain’t wasting this wine.


Leave a Reply

